RVH Research Ethics Board


The RVH Research Ethics Board (REB) is an independent body comprised of medical, scientific, and non-scientific member volunteers, whose responsibility is to ensure the protection of the rights, safety, and well-being of human participants involved in research at RVH. The RVH REB has a mandate to review, approve, and provide continuing ethics review of research protocols and amendments and of the methods and materials used in obtaining and documenting informed consent of study participants. 

The RVH REB recognizes that human participant research constitutes a broad and diverse range of scholarly activities involving systematic investigation.  As such, the RVH REB is constituted pursuant to and operating in compliance with the most current versions of the following principles, policies, guidelines, and/or regulations:

  1. Network of Networks (N2) Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs);
  2. Tri-Council Policy Statement (“TCPS”);
  3. International Conference on Harmonization Guidelines for Good Clinical Practice (“ICH GCP”);
  4. Health Canada Food and Drugs Act;
  5. US Food and Drug Administration Code of Federal Regulations (“U.S. FDA CFR”);
  6. Personal Health Information Protection Act (“PHIPA”);
  7. Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documentations Act (“PIPEDA”); and/or
  8. RVH policies and procedures

As a condition of ethics oversight, the RVH REB requires that all investigators conduct human participant research at RVH in compliance with the ethical principles, policies, guidelines, and/or regulations above.

Board Members:

Member Name Degree Expertise/Discipline RVH Affiliate
Dr. Laura Crook, Chair MD, PhD Family Medicine (Retired) Yes
Dr. Anwar Parbtani, Co-Chair MD Family Medicine Yes
Dr. Russell Price MD Laboratory Medicine; Pathology Yes
Alec Stubbs MSc Privacy Yes
Deborah Wall-Armstrong LLB Law No
Dr. Debra Merrill PharmD Pharmacy Yes
Kelly Hubbard BScN, RN, MHS Palliative Care; Infection Prevention & Control; Oncology; Urology No
Dr. Nancy Trimble MD Family Medicine Yes
Dr. Ken Letwin MD Ophthalmology Yes
Dr. Giulio DiDiodato MD, PhD Intensive Care Yes
Abby Cole BSc, MRT(T) Radiation Oncology Yes
Jeff Beleskey* LLB Law No
Graham Webb* LLB Law
Dr. Debby Wilson Danard*
Social Services
Lori Vajda
Cardiovascular; Critical Care; Nephrology; Emergency Medicine
Romaine Miller
Research Ethics

*Alternate REB Member: attends REB meetings in the place of REB members with similar expertise/capacity who are unable to attend
Non-Voting Member


Research Ethics Board
Centre for Education and Research, Room 3357
Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre
201 Georgian Drive
Barrie, Ontario
L4M 6M2


Monday-Thursday, 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. EST

Our Team:

Dr. Laura Crook
Dr. Laura CrookREB Chair
Dr. Anwar Parbtani
Dr. Anwar ParbtaniREB Co-Chair
Romaine Miller
Romaine MillerREB Coordinator
Debra Pietersen
Debra PietersenREB Adminstrator